top of page

Christmas miracles in a hard moment

December 22 i was at the ER of a local hospital delivering gifts and we were told that in the next room there was the phycologist telling a mom the diagnosis of her kid, so they asked us to go in, deliver the gift and go out immediately. That's what we did. We entered in the room, i said hi to the phycologist because i met her before, gave the little kid the gift and went out. It was something so hard to see, the pain in the mother's eyes and seeing how she received the news just broke my heart. When i got out of the room i told the nurses that I needed to stop and get some time to calm down, i broke down in tears. It was my first time seeing someone getting the diagnosis of their son and it was just way too heartbreaking. When i got to calm down we continued delivering gifts and then i saw the phycologist again outside in the hallway. She asked me how i was doing, i told her i broke down when i left the room, she told me that she knew that would happen and that the mother of the little boy broke down too when she saw me. I was so confused, why would someone break down in tears for seeing me? Then i realized. She told me that the mom of the little boy told her that she knows me since i was a little baby. She works with my mom. She was in my baby shower and watched me growing up since then. When the phycologist told me that, i connected everything, i knew who she was, i just couldn't recognize her in that moment. My heart broke even more and i returned to their room. Leukemia. Her 3 year old boy got diagnosed with acute lymphoblastic leukemia. 3 days before Christmas. I gave her a lot of hugs, she asked me questions about it and i answered what i could, i told her that everything will be fine. She knew my work with childhood cancer warriors and she never thought that our lives would be connected in this way, by the world of Childhood cancer. Not with her little boy and neither did i. After doing this for almost 3 years, i can tell you, CHILDHOOD CANCER IS NOT RARE. It could happen to me, to my friends, to my family, to your kids. It can happen to anyone and it did... It impacted someone close. I was shocked. After all of this i just can't get off my mind all the little miracles that occurred to make this possible. We were in the same hospital, the same day, at the same time and i entered in that room just when she was getting the diagnosis, she knows my work and my family knows her. Everything on Brooksy's Birthday. So many miracles that guided me that day to her. I see it as a blessing. Now we are fighting. Together.

His name is Manuel. He is spending 2 months at the hospital, he spent Christmas, new year and will spend his birthday on January 21st there. I wanted to do something special for him and his family so i decorated his hospital room for the holidays, with lights, a little Christmas tree and went to visit them the 24th and the 31st to take them gifts and a hot meal. I have been able to visit them more days since then, taking activities and toys to play with him so this 2 months can go fast for Manuel and his parents. I think this is a moment i will always remember. Despite the pain i saw and felt, I think it was a beautiful moment because our lives connected in the perfect time and in a special way. Please keep Manuel and his family in your thoughts and prayers as this fight is just beginning. 3 years ahead of treatment with lots of challenges and changes. Finally, i wish you all could meet Manuel. He is such a special boy, really sweet with everyone, he talks a lot and its just so cute to hear his voice, watch him play the guitar, singing and dancing. He has the

attitude despite the hard times


Recent posts

bottom of page